Uncategorized

all about dem quotes

“The secondhand experience is always better. The image is crisper, the view is keener, the camera angle and the soundtrack manipulate my emotions in a way reality can’t anymore. I don’t know that we are actually human at this point, those of us who are like most of us, who grew up with TV and movies and the Internet. If we are betrayed, we know the words to say; when a loved one dies we know the words to say. We are all working from the same dog-eared script.” 

I thought I’d start with the quote this time so that no one would have to go through my crappy writing to attain the pure genius of Gillian Flynn.

Anyway, as I read this quote for the first time (how ironic) it struck me as a lot closer to the truth than I’d like it to be.

I’m quite embarrassed to say that once, when someone told me their father was dead, my response was “How did they die?” 

No condolences, no apologies, already my brain was trying to turn this unfortunate event into a morbid, murder-mystery.

I will admit that anecdote didn’t have much to do with the quote but I just thought I’d share some of my embarrassing life with you. 

Moving swiftly on, here are the rules for the challenge: 

1. Post 1 quote for 3 days (can be your own or from other sources.

2. Nominate 3 bloggers to participate per post.

3. Thank the person who nominated you!

I’d like to nominate:

black panther

Sope

emilicious

Standard

4 thoughts on “all about dem quotes

  1. I like that quote, and your writing is better than you believe it to be. I’ve never been one to be societally correct, and whenever anyone tells me about their grief I just go like “oh…cool stuff”. I’m a hopeless case. Though I don’t blame you for trying to turn that into a murder-mystery. I would’ve done the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

